We Offer 3 Levels of Chimney Inspection

by | Sep 26, 2019 | Levels of Inspection

It’s nearly time to light your winter fires and that means a little annual maintenance. Before you reach for the matches or switch on the pilot light, have you had your fireplace and chimney system inspected? These preventative services are necessary to keep your fireplace and chimney working properly and lasting a lifetime. At Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service, we offer 3 levels of chimney inspection, each designed with you in mind. If your system hasn’t been inspected in the last 12 months, it’s time to schedule.

Chimney Inspections Prevent Fires

According to the Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA) and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), the chimney systems that are cleaned regularly and inspected annually are the safest and most efficient. Efficient chimneys have less risk of a flue fire. Chimneys that are constructed and maintained properly are less likely to transfer heat, smoke, or gas through the masonry into the home. These annual inspections are when your chimney professional will identify hazards and make repairs before disaster strikes. In short, chimney inspections prevent fires.

CSIA Inspections

Because not all chimneys need a thorough examination, there are 3 types of CSIA inspections. This saves time and money and eliminates unnecessary services. Your chimney system needs an inspection annually, but if it has no issues and has been used in the same way as usual, then it needs a different inspection than your neighbor’s chimney which started leaning last spring.

  • LEVEL ONE – A level one inspection is the annual inspection that every chimney should have regardless of how often it is used. When the system is used in the same way, as usual, it has had no problems, and no changes have been made, a level one should be scheduled. It includes all readily accessible portions of the chimney system. The technician will check for basic soundness by looking at the interior and exterior portions of the chimney, verify it’s free of obstruction and combustible deposits, and check for correct installation and parts placement.
  • LEVEL TWO – A level two inspection is required when changes have been made to the system when there is a suspected problem or hazard in the system, and before the sale or transfer of property. This level of inspection includes all that in a basic level one, in addition to accessible areas in attics and crawlspaces. This inspection also includes a video scan of the entire flue interior.
  • LEVEL THREE – Scheduled when a hazard is detected in a level one or two inspections, this level of inspection may require removal of parts of the chimney or the home to gain access to hazards. This inspection usually results in a repair and can take longer than a lesser level inspection.

Schedule With Us Today

If your chimney system hasn’t been inspected since you’ve owned your home, in the last year, or since you had a problem with the system, schedule an inspection now. The experts at Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service are CSIA certified and inspect chimneys in and around the Raleigh/Durham area of North Carolina.

Call us today at 919-747-1859 for inspections, sweeps, installations, and more.

Related Posts

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.